Feng Shui Directions: The 24 Mountains

The Compass School of Classical Feng Shui is based on the concept that each of the eight feng shui directions hold a different type of Qi. Factors including astrology and numerology are added around this central premise. Let us understand how. You are aware that there are four cardinal and four sub-cardinal directions. The four cardinal directions are North, South, East, and West. The four sub-cardinal directions are Northeast, Northwest, Southeast, and Southwest. The Eight Trigrams of Classical Feng Shui are correlated to each of these eight directions.

Trigrams and Directions
The Eight Trigrams and their corresponding directions

These Eight Trigrams along with their particular directions, also correspond to a particular Gua number. They also have particular elements associated with them. Each of these elements carry a particular form of energy with them. Hence, we can safely conclude that each of the eight directions also foster different types of Qi.

In Classical Feng Shui, each of the eight fundamental directions are further divided into 3 sub-directions. This makes a total of 24 feng shui directions, also known as The 24 Mountains of Classical Feng Shui. A compass measures 0 to 360 degrees. Hence, each trigram constitutes 45 degrees of the compass. Each trigram, or let’s say each fundamental direction, is subdivided into 3 equal parts of 15 degrees each. It is this precision and detailing involved in Classical Feng Shui, that makes it accurate and reliable. It discourages intuitive insights on one hand, and relies on computation, observation, and experimentation on the other.

The 24 Mountains of Classical Feng Shui have particular degrees and each of them have a different Chinese name. Diagrammatically, The 24 Mountains can be represented as follows:

The 24 Mountains
The 24 Feng Shui Directions

The diagram can be further tabulated as:

The Feng Shui Directions: The 24 Mountains
The 24 Mountains and their degrees

The table shows the 24 Feng Shui directions along with their corresponding degrees. This table will help you locate your actual facing and sitting direction. All you need is a compass. You can either buy a compass or download it from the app store into your smartphone. There are plenty of apps and their readings are fairly accurate.

How to take a compass reading:
  • Stand absolutely straight.
  • The arrow should be aligned with the line on the base plate.
  • Hold the compass perpendicular to your body. The compass should not be tilted.
  • The magnetic needle will rotate to point due North.
  • The degree which coincides with the arrow is the degree in front of you.
Practical Application:

So what is the use of this knowledge in Classical Feng Shui?

Classical Feng Shui practitioners use compass readings to arrive at the facing and sitting directions of the property. Compass readings provide accurate degrees and thus perfect directions. It is also used in determining an accurate and precise sleeping and working direction for a particular individual. Based on the compass readings, Feng Shui practitioners get an insight into the property’s prominent Qi. This makes them able to enhance the effects of positive Qi and remedy the negative ones.

Compass readings also enable Feng Shui practitioners to suggest alternate favorable directions for a particular person. Hence, if a person is unable to tap into his four favorable personal directions, he may use the alternate directions and enjoy the benefits of positive Qi.

Now that you have been introduced to The Compass School of Classical Feng Shui and how to use a compass, feel free to note the compass readings of your main entrance, bed alignment, work desk, etc. For further clarity, go over to the contact section and raise your queries. Feel free to leave your comments in the comments section and share your experience with us! Stay tuned for more!

Please follow, like, and subscribe:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.